Thursday, February 20, 2020

2015 IN BRIEF Appointments and Dismissals


By Amie Sanneh

We have been publishing a summary of the stories that we published in 2015. We continue to summarise theOusman Jammeh stories relating to appointments and dismissals of ministers and public servants.


Mr Ousman Jammeh, the Director General of the Department of Agriculture, is now the new Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture.

According to the information, Mr. Jammeh replaces Mr Ebrima Jawara who was removed on Friday, 6 February, 2015, from the position of Permanent Secretary number one at the ministry.

Mr Ousman Jammeh was later appointed as Deputy Minister of Agriculture on 8 July, 2015, a position he held till 15 October, 2015, when he was replaced by Mr. Ismaila Jammeh.


The resignation of Mr. Solomon Owens from his position as minister of agriculture was announced on 9 April, 2015. It was Solomond Owensannounced that Mr Owens resigned because of health reasons. In response to Mr Owen’s resignation, it was indicated that the ministry of agriculture is now under the purview of the office of the president and that President Jammeh is now the minister of agriculture.


Information received by this reporter has it that new appointments have taken place at the Ministry of Agriculture.

According to sources, Ousman Jammeh, who was until recently Permanent Secretary number one at the Agriculture Ministry, has now been appointed Deputy Minister, while Mr. Falalo Touray, the Coordinator of the Central Project Coordinating Unit, replaces Mr. Jammeh as PS 1.

When contacted on the issue, Ousman Jammeh confirmed the appointments and added that he was appointed as Deputy MinisterFalalo Touray of Agriculture with effect from the 8th July, 2015.



 New changes have been effected at the top levels of the ministry of agriculture whose ‘deputy’ minister, Mr. Ousman Jammeh, was relieved of his post last week and subsequently detained.

Mr. Falalo Touray, who was Permanent Secretary number one until the removal of Mr. Jammeh, has now been redeployed to the position of head of the Central Project Coordinating Unit (CPCU) under the agriculture ministry. However, Falalo Touray was appointed Director General of the Department of Agriculture as from 27 October, 2015.

Meanwhile, Mr. Sait Drammeh, the Director General of the Department of Agriculture, was appointed as Permanent Secretary number one, replacing Mr. Touray, with effect from 15 October, 2015.


GRTS television, on Tuesday night of 15 November, 2015, announced the reappointment of Mr Momodou Aki Bayo as Minister of Lands and Regional Government with effect from that day. Mr Bayo was relieved of his minister of Lands and Regional Momodou Aki BayoGovernment just 11 days before his re-appointment on December 4, 2015.

In the same vein, the president on that same day relieved Mr. Momodou Lamin Gibba of his position as Minister of Lands and Regional Government. He too was appointed on 4 December, 2015, to replace Mr Aki Bayo.



It was announced on November 23, 2015, in GRTS evening bulletin that Mr. Sulayman Samba has replaced Mr. Lamin Nyabally as Secretary General, head of the Civil Service and Minister responsible for Presidential Affairs.

Mr. Samba was the Deputy Secretary General prior to his recent appointment.

Mr. Nyabally was relieved of his previous positions but wass given a new portfolio as Minister of Fisheries with effect from 18 November, 2015.

According to a State House press release, MrIsmailaSanyang and Sulayman Samba were relieved of their cabinet posts asSulayman Samba ministers of agriculture and presidential affairs respectively with effect from Monday, 29 December, 2015.

The President has appointed Mr. Sheriffo Bojang as deputy minister of agriculture under the office of the President.

Must Read

IEC set for Niamina West by-election in April

The Independent Electoral Commission has on Thursday 16, April 2020 announced the date of the Niamina West Consistency by-election.A press release issued by the...