According to a Press briefing convened by the IEC on Monday 30 November 2015, the IEC is to conduct supplementary registration of voters from 14 January 2016 to 12 March 2016. However it did not say anything  about the new constituencies which were mentioned in the Gazette namely, Sanneh Mentereng  constituency, Old Yundum Constituency, Busumbala Constituency, Brikama North Constituency, Brikama South Constituency, Tallinding Kunjang Constituency, Latrikunda Sabiji Constituency, Serrekunda Constituency and Bundungka Kunda Constituency. These Constituencies would have to have new voters’ cards.

We have pointed out that there are 48 constituencies in the country as provided for by Section 88 of the Constitution. The demarcation announced would increase the number of constituencies to 53.

Hence the constituencies cannot be demarcated until section 88 is amended. Needless to say, Section 88 cannot be amended unless the Bill is published twice in the Gazette. The first publication should last for three months and the second for at least 10 days before the National Assembly considers it. Unless the constitution is amended the so-called demarcations would be null and void.

The IEC should have made pronouncement on such matters. People living in the areas which are reported to have been demarcated are still asking whether they are to have new voters’ cards bearing the name of the so called new constituencies or not. This question is still unanswered. Foroyaa will search for answers.


Join The Conversation